Monday 6 June 2011

Sunday afternoon at Norwich Assembly House

The Assembly House, Norwich venue for the
Ensemble Millefleurs concert
On Sunday afternoon I attended the UEA School of Music concert at The Assembly House, Norwich. This performance was from the Ensemble Millefleurs with Erika Arul as Conductor and Kumaran Arul as Pianist Soloist.

The programme consisted of Concerto Grosso Opus 6 No.2 - Handel, Appalachian Spring - Copland and Piano Concerto No.5 Opus 73 "Emperor" - Beethoven.

This was a delightful way to spend a Sunday afternoon at this historic Norwich building with a programme of wonderful music. Starting with Handel's Opus 6, No.2 that was performed in the style of the early twentieth century.

We were then treated to Aaron Copland's Appalachian Spring that evokes the spirit of the American pioneers. A Spring celebration of a bride and her marriage to a farmer starting a new life in their Pennsylvania farmhouse.

The highlight of the concert was Beethoven's Piano Concerto No.5 Opus 73 "Emperor" which was composed in 1809 after the composer had survived Napoleon's bombardment of Vienna. As with the Handel performance this was performed with inspiration from the earliest recordings of this work.

At the end of the concert there was a retiring collecting for Come Singing! This is a singing group in Norfolk for people of all ages living with dementia.

No comments:

Post a Comment